The Prize

The international Heinrich Wieland Prize honours outstanding research on biologically active molecules and systems and their clinical importance in the fields of chemistry, biochemistry and physiology. The award is endowed by the Boehringer Ingelheim Foundation and named after Heinrich Wieland (1877-1957), a Nobel laureate in chemistry. Since 1964 the prize has been awarded annually by a scientific Board of Trustees. Four of the Heinrich Wieland Laureates received the Nobel Prize later on, with the most recent being James E. Rothman who was awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 2013.

Prize Certificate

The award ceremony and laureate lecture for the Heinrich Wieland Prize 2013 will take place on October 10th, 2013, in Munich, Germany.

Address: Heinrich Wieland Auditorium, Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy, LMU Munich, Butenandtstraße 5–13, House F, Room FU1.013, 81377 Munich

The call for nominations for the Heinrich Wieland Prize 2014 is open.